where mariel lived: new york.

One sees great things from the valley; only small things from the peak. -G.K. Chesterton

Since my father shared these words from Chesterton with me earlier this year, I find myself coming back to them, for different reasons. For instance, with the outcome of the 2016 U.S. election, I glean hope and patience from this quote. Retrospectively-speaking also, I see how Chesterton’s words continue to ring true.

I graduated from Barnard College in the spring, bringing to a close a rich season of valleys and peaks. Living and going to school in the city for the past four years taught me so much, but that’s an entirely separate blog post. Let’s keep this one short and sweet. Here is a glimpse into my last year in New York, the city of deepest valleys and highest peaks, in the form of video footage + disposable camera photos.

221912118221161611514141151106412321812111311

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Loved the video. Very poignant, personal, profoundly human, touching.

Leave a Reply

