what mariel likes: current favorites


This is a round up of the things that I have been liking lately. From clothing items to songs to food…you name, all is up for grabs in this post. These are in no particular order, by the way.

01//my gray hat//IMG_6672

I got this trusty hat last fall, and have worn and loved it since. Even though it’s a more wool-y and felt-y material that can get rather warm sometimes in the sunlight, I still love wearing it in the warmer weather. It seems to pull an outfit together, oddly enough.

02//my new new balances//IMG_6674

I haven’t had these for very long, but they’ve definitely been on my mind for quite some time. I finally bit the bullet several weeks ago and invested in a pair from J. Crew. I know that I’ll get a lot of wear out of them in the months to come.

03//tea//IMG_6691

Tea is always kind of a favorite, but every night during these past several weeks, I’ve been unwinding from work with a cup of tea, and it’s fantastic. I really love the Korean brown rice/green tea because it’s more mild than straight up green tea. I’m also convinced that Korean tea in general just does not have much caffeine at all. I always manage to drink a nice, big cup of it and fall asleep with no problem.

04//phone calls//IMG_6684

Phone calls, never did I ever think that I’d say that phone calls were a favorite of mine (I usually avoid phone calls because they’ve been awkward for me in the past), but I guess there’s a first time for everything. Since I’ve been away from my family and friends the past several weeks, I have discovered the comfort of a phone call here and there. (Also, thank you to those dear people who’ve stayed up late to talk with me on the phone, you know who you are.)

05//aveeno daily moisturizing lotion//IMG_6679

Girl’s gotta moisturize. Thank you to, Shezza, my lovely resident assistant from last semester who gifted the other residents and me mini versions of this lotion. It’s a great, simple lotion that soaks in fast and has no strong scent.

06//reading//IMG_6678

I have been enjoying reading lately, which is good, because I’m working on becoming a better reader, especially right before bed. My dear friend, Kelly, gifted me one of her favorite books, East of Eden, for my birthday this year, so glad to finally be delving into it.

07//everyday food youtube channel//Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 12.42.54 PM

I believe I’ve mentioned this youtube channel before, but I am continuing to love it. Sarah Carey is fabulously concise and gives great tips when she’s throwing together those recipes. Also, I can’t resist her fiery, red curls, they’re so fun!

08//smudgy eyeliner+fine eyeliner brush//IMG_6681

I don’t usually wear makeup on a daily basis, but lately I’ve been smudging a brown-y eyeliner across my lash line for some subtle definition. It’s also super easy to do in the mornings when I’m running a tad late. I am currently using this eyeliner and this brush to smudge it out.

09//my watch//IMG_6687

I love my watch. It’s the unisex Timex Weekender watch with the olive nylon strap, and it is perfection. I love the large, clear face because it’s so easy to read, and the olive strap is just neutral enough to wear with everything, but still adds some interest to your wrist (in my opinion). I may or may not have the beginnings of a watch tan.

10//soaking up the sun//IMG_6690

I know that the official start of summer isn’t for several days, but ever since school ended, it’s been summer in my mind, and that means getting lots and lots of sunshine. I usually go for jog/walks on the weekends on a nearby trail, and they are beautiful and sunny. This past weekend, what usually is about a 2.5-3 mile route extended into a 5.5-6 mile route, and I got a bit sunburnt. I honestly cannot remember the last time I had a sunburn this bad. However, although it burns, I kinda love the fact that I got a sunburn. It seems like some form of rite of passage in the summertime. (Don’t worry though, I’m still lathering on sunscreen…and aloe gel.)

Let me know if you have been enjoying any particular books, songs, clothing items, skincare, youtube videos, etc. Share the fun! Here’s a youtube video that I’ve enjoyed recently too, not quite a favorite, but definitely something to put a smile on your face.

Have a blessed day/night, y’all.

❤ mariel

Leave a Reply

