what mariel eats: eggs any style

“How do ya like your eggs in the morning?” -Dean Martin & Helen O’Connell

This song is one of my favorites to listen to in the morning for many reasons:

  1. It’s a happy song.
  2. Who doesn’t like a good Dean Martin song?
  3. Talks about one of my favorite foods ever. Eggs.

That last point brings me to the main star of this post. EGGS. For breakfast, for lunch, for dinner. Served in any and every style. Now, before attending college, I would only eat eggs that were scrambled. I never really understood the appeal of having an egg cooked over-easy or sunny-side up with a runny yolk. However, within my first couple weeks of college, I found my palate concerning eggs changing rather drastically. Long story short, I love a runny yolk now, and I will eat an egg cooked in basically any fashion (especially if a runny yolk is involved).

So that being said, here are some of my favorite ways to eat them.

*note: to link to the recipes, click on photo descriptions

Scrambled Eggs:

softScrambledEggs
soft scrambled eggs

Fried Eggs:

charredTomatoesWithFriedEggs
fried eggs + toast
blt sandwich with fried egg (photo from my iPhone 4s)
blt sandwich with fried egg (photo from my iPhone 4s)
blt sandwich with fried egg
blt sandwich with fried egg (photo from my iPhone 4s)

Omelettes:

omelette
omelette

Frittatas:

basic frittata
frittata
homemade frittata courtesy of my mom
homemade frittata courtesy of my mom

Poached Eggs:

eggs florentine
eggs florentine
eggs benedict
eggs benedict
QuinoaCake_poachedEgg
poached egg with quinoa cakes
poached eggs + polenta (photo from my iPhone 4s)
poached eggs + polenta (photo from my iPhone 4s)

Huevos Rancheros:

huevos_rancheros
huevos rancheros

Breakfast Pizza:

breakfast_pizza
breakfast pizza

There is a delicious breakfast pizza with an egg on top at Bettolona on LaSalle + Broadway on the Upper West Side in Manhattan.

Soft-Boiled Eggs:

soft-boiled eggs + soldiers (photo from my iPhone 4s)
soft-boiled eggs + soldiers from Le Pain Quotidien (photo from my iPhone 4s)

Baked Eggs:

simple_baked_eggs
baked eggs
baked eggs from Back Forty (photo from my iPhone 4s)
baked eggs from Back Forty (photo from my iPhone 4s)

Here’s a video that just talks about eggs too, if you want to hear an egg-splanation about eggs. (Sorry not sorry, I couldn’t help myself from using an egg-citing pun. HAHA! Also, does anyone remember this from Full House?)

My mouth is watering…hope yours is too.

If you are the type of person to stick to one style of egg, I challenge you to try any of the styles mentioned here. Who knows? Your palate might change too.

Have a good one, y’all.

❤ mariel

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You sister told me where I could find you–love you blog! Seeing your creativity and joy at life makes me very happy for you! Enjoy! Miss Havins, SHS

    • Hi Miss Havins! Oh wow, thank you for the wonderful comment. I really love having a creative outlet like this blog; Humanities definitely was an creative outlet for me in high school too, so thank you + Mr. McKinney! I hope that you are doing well. : )

Leave a Reply

