what mariel made: simple add-on spaghetti

Spring break has been a godsend this past week. I decided to come back home and spend time with my family…and my kitchen. This is by no means a special recipe, but it’s the simplest dinner that I can whip up for my family, so I thought I’d share it with y’all. I’m going to call it “add-on spaghetti” because that is the nature of the recipe. You can literally add on anything that you want to this recipe (substitute the type of meat you use, add different types of vegetables, use a different tomato sauce, etc).

Basic Ingredients:

  • 24 oz. tomato sauce *note: use as much sauce as you desire (I only had a 24 oz. jar laying in my pantry this time around)
  • 1 cup chopped onions
  • 2-3 cloves chopped garlic
  • olive oil
  • salt + pepper to taste
  • spaghetti noodles *or any other type of pasta you like!

Add-on Ingredients (in this recipe):

  • ground turkey *note: use ground beef, chicken, anything, or no meat at all for a vegetarian option
  • 1  green bell pepper diced
  • 1/3 zucchini diced
  • parmesan cheese

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
a mix of red + white onion (this is literally what was lying around in my kitchen)
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
we always have some Prego tomato sauce chillin’ in our pantry
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
*remember to salt the water you boil the pasta in and also add a splash of oil so the pasta doesn’t stick together later
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
zucchini *try to chop all the veggies in similar sizes so they all cook evenly
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
green bell pepper
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
we had a meatier sauce this time around, so I used about 3/4 of this package of ground turkey
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
parmesan + my beloved microplane *I grated about 1/2 cup to put into the sauce

First off, start by sautéing your garlic + onions in some olive oil on medium heat and gradually add your other vegetables. Also start to boil your water for the pasta later on.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Then add your meat and cook it through. Add salt and pepper here, if you’d like.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Next, add your tomato sauce. *note: I always make sure to leave the jar upside-down for a little bit on my spoon to get every last bit of tomato sauce out of the jar. It’s kinda dangerous, but it does the trick!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Meanwhile, when your water starts to boil, cook the pasta. Add the grated parmesan cheese to your sauce and let it simmer for about 10-15 minutes on low heat.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After your sauce has simmered and your noodles are ready, just give your sauce one last stir and serve over pasta. Add some grated parmesan on top and voilà! Prepare a simple salad or some garlic bread (ideally both), and you have dinner prepared.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This is such a simple and versatile recipe that I hope helps those of you who don’t always know what to cook for dinner or have limited time and ingredients. Hopefully you have some of these ingredients already in your kitchens and can whip up a quick dinner of this simple add-on spaghetti in no time! Please let me know in the comments some of your “go-to” and easy recipes! I’d love to learn some more.

Okay y’all, I’m sorry I haven’t been a good blogger lately. Hopefully the spring season will help me be more proactive in writing posts. I have a slew of drafts waiting to be completed, but I have been lazy. However, I won’t leave you like this. Here is a video to make you laugh. : )

Have a blessed week and happy first day of spring!

(here are some photos in honor of the first day of spring)

buying flowers is always tempting
buying flowers is always tempting
carrot tops
carrot tops
beautiful cauliflower at the market
beautiful cauliflower at the market
would love to make a salad with these tomatoes
would love to make a salad with these tomatoes
beautiful sunflowers
beautiful sunflowers
blue skies + spring time
blue skies + spring time

❤ mariel

Leave a Reply

