what mariel made: diy christmas cards

I’m trying to get this post up ASAP before Christmas, so it’ll be somewhat useful. If you have some extra time on your hands, or if you don’t want to spend lots of money on buying over-priced Christmas cards, just make your own. After completing my final exams for this semester, I commenced my winter break with a stack of blank cards, some pens, and Spotify to keep me company whilst I made cards ’til 4:00AM. <–my idea of a fun all-nighter

What I used:

  • white cardstock (to make blank cards)
  • colored pens (I used Le Pens)
  • butcher paper (to make envelopes)
  • baker’s twine (for packaging purposes)

Here are some of the cards I came up with + a few packaging ideas.

IMG_6132
diy blank note cards made from plain white cardstock
IMG_6149
home alone, anyone?

IMG_6130

IMG_6134 IMG_6135 IMG_6136 IMG_6138IMG_6140 IMG_6142IMG_6144IMG_6146 IMG_6147 IMG_6148 IMG_6150

Quick packaging idea #1: wrap a slip of butcher paper + baker’s twine around a card in place of an envelope

IMG_6151 IMG_6152 IMG_6153 IMG_6155 IMG_6156 IMG_6157 IMG_6158 IMG_6159

Quick packaging idea #2: add a couple sprigs of lavender/flowers/herbs to a package for an added sumpin’ sumpin’

(inspired by a scene from the 1994 film adaptation of Little Women, anyone?)

joManuscript
the scene from Little Women
IMG_6160
bushel of lavender from the union square holiday market

IMG_6161 IMG_6163 IMG_6164

Okay, well I hope this helped someone out there. Enjoy the holiday season + try not to stress out + rest + eat yummy food + stay healthy + appreciate the ones you love. Merry Christmas, y’all. Have a blessed day/night.

❤ mariel

p.s. enjoy this classic

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. So cute! Thanks for this I actually needed some inspiration today haha 😛 also, you should open my present before Christmas now that I think about it…. Let me know when you do! 😉

Leave a Reply

