what mariel read: The Night Circus

The-Night-Circus COVER

Recently, I have been fortunate enough to enjoy a several-week road trip vacation with my family and friends. Road trips have their pros and cons. The largest con for my sisters and me was probably having limited wifi access, so we were forced to find forms of entertainment that were not based from our Apple devices. We resorted to cards, charades, and naps mainly. However, I rediscovered the joy of recreational reading, and thanks to a recommendation from a friend, I brought an entrancing book called The Night Circus with me.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgensten is a book filled with whimsy with just enough action and romance. It tells the tale of two magicians who are raised and trained to be each other’s opponents in a mysterious challenge. The catch is that the challenge can only end when one opponent dies, and it all takes place within the most curious, spellbinding circus.

There are several reviews that define it mainly as a romance, but I disagree. Romance is a large part of the plot, but most of the novel centers around the magical circus that acts as the creative foundation for adventure. Morgensten writes lovely, vivid passages that transport you into the realm of the Night Circus (I just wish it existed in real life!).  This book genuinely sucked me into the fascinating circus that Morgensten intricately creates through multiple voices.

Overall, it is an easy but long read, perfect for road trips and pre-bedtime reads. I highly recommend it, so if you have already read this or decide to read it, please feel free to let me know what you thought about it!

Thanks again for stopping by what mariel made. I have some exciting and more consistent blog posts planned, so stay tuned! Have a lovely day/night!

❤ mariel

Leave a Reply

